Tribute to COVID 19 frontline workers

by Indian American Medical Association (IL)

Dr. Suneela Harsoor passed on the gavel to incoming President Dr. Suresh Reddy Asian Media USA ©

Chicago IL: Indian American Medical Association (IL), on November 13th, 2021 celebrated its 41st annual business meeting and gala at Ashton place, Willow brook, Illinois. Over 250 people attended the banquet to witness and celebrate the success of IAMA during this challenging year.

At the gala, Chief guest Dr Chundi Vishnu, chair of COVID task force, Chicago Medical society and Keynote speaker Dyan Elliot, The Peter B. Ritzma Professor of the Humanities, Northwestern University spoke about current and historical perspectives of pandemics.

Event was attended by several dignitaries including Consul General Amit Kumar, Congressman Raja Krishna Murthy, Dr Barath Barai, Dr. Ranga Reddy, Dr Srinivas Reddy, Dr Sukanya Reddy, Dr Satish Kathula and Dr Virendra Bisla.

Bollywood singers Bhupinder Singh rock IAMA audiences

Dr Suneela Harsoor, the current president of IAMA gave a heartfelt tribute to frontline workers who selflessly served during the pandemic. She and her team have served the community here in US and in India by raising funds, creating health awareness, participating in Vaccination drives and Teleconsultations.

Dr Harsoor was given standing ovation for rejuvenating this prestigious organization, bringing back its previous glory and mission to serve. She was also applauded for her pioneering initiatives to combat Physician burnout as well as empower women physician leaders.

Dr. Arvind Goyal was honored with lifetime achievement award. Dr. Ambika Amblee received distinguished physician award. Dr. Rajeev Kumar was given a presidential appreciation award, while Dr Samir shah was recognized for his selfless service. Dr Tapan Parikh received the young physician of the year award. IAMA made history by establishing Dr. Usha Rani Nimmagadda Women physician leadership award to recognize women physician leaders serving in health care. Dr. Annita John was the first recipient of this distinguished award for her outstanding service for the community.

The master of the ceremony’s Dr Utpal Parekh and Dr Radhika Chimata kept the audience informed and entertained throughout the event. Pure Happiness Bollywood singers Pavitra Anand and Bhupinder Singh got everyone off their seats onto the dancing floor until midnight.

Dr. Suneela Harsoor passed on the gavel to incoming President Dr. Suresh Reddy and wished him success for the year 2022. She extended her cordial support to take IAMA to greater heights.